Advanced Topics

When I boot from my backup, Little Snitch reports that its rules have been replaced by a different version. Why, and how can I avoid this?

According to ObDev developers, it is crucial for Little Snitch to avoid unnoticed ruleset changes. Little Snitch therefore has numerous mechanisms to detect whether it is using the exact same ruleset file, as in, on the same volume and at the same physical address on that disk. This sort of mechanism makes it impossible for Little Snitch to use the ruleset on the booted backup volume without physical intervention from a user at the system (thus the dialog asking if it's OK to use the current version of rules or to use a default ruleset).

Outgoing network connections made by CCC

If you're using an application firewall such as Little Snitch, you will see several outgoing network connections coming from CCC. We explain below what connections you should expect to see, and also explain why some connections that look unexpected are simply misreported by Little Snitch.

Ordinary activity

CCC will make external network connections for the following activity:

Creating a separate task to prevent VM container versions from bloating the SafetyNet

If you frequently use virtual machine container files (e.g. with Parallels, VMWare, VirtualBox, etc.), you may find that CCC's SafetyNet folder tends to get very large, very quickly. Every time you open your virtual machine, the monolithic virtual machine container file is modified, and CCC will require that it gets backed up during the next backup task. If the SafetyNet is on, CCC will move the older version of the VM container file into the SafetyNet folder.

Modifying CCC's Security Configuration

Rather than requiring you to enter admin credentials every time you want to run a task or make changes to a task, CCC 4 now only requires you to authenticate once when CCC is initially installed. While this new configuration is easier to use and has been requested by countless users, there are situations where this configuration is not appropriate. If you leave your system unattended with an admin user logged in, someone with physical access to your system can modify or run your CCC backup tasks.

"My disk is already formatted HFS+, why am I getting this warning?"

If your disk is not partitioned using the scheme recommended and supported by Apple, CCC will indicate a warning when you start the backup task such as:

You may have difficulty booting from this destination volume, the underlying disk is not partitioned with a partitioning scheme that Apple recommends for Intel Macs.

Working with FileVault Encryption

CCC is fully qualified for use with FileVault-protected volumes. CCC offers some advice around enabling encryption in the Disk Center.

Enabling encryption on a volume that contains (or will contain) an installation of macOS

If your goal is to create a bootable, encrypted backup, use the following procedure:

Restoring non-system files

Configuring Scheduled Task Runtime Conditions

Sometimes time-based scheduling is insufficient to describe exactly how you want your tasks to run. CCC offers runtime conditions which allow you to restrict the running of your tasks under certain conditions when the task is normally scheduled to run.

I have a full-volume backup in a folder or a disk image, but I don't have a bootable backup. How can I restore everything?

CCC makes bootable backups specifically to avoid this kind of situation. When you have a bootable backup, you simply boot from that, then restore everything to a replacement disk or the original disk. One step, minimal time, couldn't be easier. Occasionally people get into this sticky situation though -- I have a backup of everything in a disk image or in a folder on the backup volume, there's a clean installation of macOS on my replacement disk, now how do I get everything back to the way that it was before?

Frequently asked questions about the Carbon Copy Cloner SafetyNet