I have a backup created by another application or an older version of CCC. Can CCC update my existing backup?

Product: 
ccc6

CCC always examines the files on the destination to determine if they already match those on the source. If you have a volume that is virtually identical to your source, CCC will copy only the items that are different between the two volumes.

Frequently asked questions about the CCC SafetyNet folder

Product: 
ccc6

Note: The topics in this article are not relevant to APFS-formatted destination volumes that have CCC snapshot support enabled. For those volumes, CCC leverages snapshots to implement the SafetyNet functionality, and the snapshots aren't affected by any of the shortcomings described here.

I have a full-volume backup in a folder or a disk image, but I don't have a bootable backup. How can I restore everything?

Product: 
ccc6

CCC makes bootable backups specifically to avoid this kind of situation. When you have a bootable backup, you simply boot from that, then restore everything to a replacement disk or the original disk. One step, minimal time, couldn't be easier. Occasionally people get into this sticky situation though -- I have a backup of everything in a disk image or in a folder on the backup volume, there's a clean installation of macOS on my replacement disk, now how do I get everything back to the way that it was before?

Frequently Asked Questions about encrypting the backup volume

Can I run a backup while I'm using my computer? If I have open files, will they be backed up?

Product: 
ccc6

Generally, yes. Performance will be affected during the backup task (especially the first one) as CCC reads the entire source volume and writes to the destination volume. If your work is "disk bound" — that is your applications are reading or writing to either the source or destination, then you'll notice a performance hit. If you're just reading email or writing a document, then you probably won't notice the performance hit.

CCCとmacOS 11についてのよくある質問

Product: 
ccc5

macOS Big Surの発表に伴い、AppleはMac OS X (10) を廃止し、macOS 11をその代替としました。数値の違いが示すように、これはAppleが約20年前にMac OS Xを導入して以来、macOSへの最大の変化です。新しく、システムは暗号で封印された "署名付きのシステムボリューム"にあります。その封印はAppleだけが適用でき、システムボリュームの通常のコピーはAppleのシールがないと起動可能にはなりません。macOS 11のシステムボリュームの機能するコピーを作成するには、Appleのツールを使用してシステムをコピーするか、またはバックアップにmacOSをインストールする必要があります。

CCCとmacOS Catalinaについてのよくある質問

Product: 
ccc5

macOS Catalinaにアップグレードした場合、お使いのMacに“Macintosh HD - Data”という新しいボリュームがあるのに気がついたかもしれません。この新しいボリュームはボリュームグループの一部で、macOS Catalinaの新しいコンセプトです。ここではボリュームグループについて詳しく説明します。しかし、この記事の残り部分は、macOS Catalinaのバックアップを調整するために、CCCがこの新しいボリューム構造をどのように対処するか、およびユーザが何をすれば良いのか(もし何かする必要があるとすれば)についての質問に答えることを目的としています。

Why does CCC say that my Mac is booted from a backup volume?

Product: 
ccc5

If you boot your Mac from a backup volume, CCC will be started upon login to ask whether you'd like help restoring from that backup volume. Sometimes, though, this offer is made when you're booted from a production volume, not a backup. CCC makes this assessment based on your currently-defined backup tasks. If you used CCC to migrate from one drive to another, then the task that you used to perform that clone will still be present on your new startup disk.

レガシーSafetyNetフォルダは、スナップショットがコピー先で有効の場合、使用されません

Product: 
ccc5

SafetyNetはコピー先ボリュームのデータを保護することを目的としたCCCのユニークな機能です。この機能がデザインされた最も一般的な目的は、誤ってコピー先ボリュームとして選択されたボリュームの内容を保護することです。そのボリュームの内容を即座に削除する代わりに、CCCはその内容を“_CCC SafetyNet”という名前のフォルダに保管します。設定の間違いに気づいたら、SafetyNetフォルダからファイルを復元して、バックアップタスクの設定を訂正するだけです。

SafetyNetの機能は、“アーカイブされる必要のある古いデータ”と“ソースのデータセットと全く関係のないコピー先のデータ”の違いを知ることはできません。これらのファイルは同じ保護を提供されているので、多くのユーザーはSafetyNet機能をファイルの古いバージョンの復元の手段として利用しています。SafetyNetフォルダは本来この目的のためにデザインされていませんので、この目的で使用される場合多くの弱点があります。にも拘わらず、ファイルの古いバージョンをSafetyNetフォルダで探すユーザが増え続けています。

System problems can lead to a failure to install CCC's helper tool

Product: 
ccc5

Configuration files for privileged helper tools are placed in the /Library/LaunchDaemons folder on your startup disk. CCC never touches this folder directly, rather it uses the macOS "Service Management" service to install and load its helper tool configuration. If the permissions or ownership of this folder are incorrect, however, the Service Management daemon (smd) will fail to install the helper tool configuration, and this service offers no recourse, nor even a notification that something is wrong that should be corrected.